7.Although more and more people read news on the internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that online news reading is becoming increasingly popular these days. However, it is argued that newspaper would still be the primary news source. In my opinion, this perception is rather fallacious and internet has clearly replaced newspaper as most important tool to know about the happenings around the globe.

On one hand, newspaper is widely read because of habit and inability to embrace new technology. Firstly, paper version has been around since centuries and people have become accustomed to exploring news in this form. Thus, they feel that online news reading hardly gives similar experience. Secondly, people from older age groups are not well-acquainted with intricacies of technology so, they find it easier to stick to paper version. This has been proven by a study conducted by the American journalists association which showed that more than seventy percent of subscribers of newspapers belonged to age group of over forty years while online subscription was mostly bought by younger people.

On the other hand, I do not believe these arguments live up to the scrutiny and internet has now become top method of staying updated about the world news. To begin with, online newsrooms do not hog large spaces in the house as news can be saved in smart phones so, people find them more convenient. Furthermore, tons of news channels and magazines are accessible in form of online resources just one click away making it comparatively more accessible than buying different newspapers separately. For instance, all famous media houses like CNN and BBC have developed their smart phone apps which provide their subscribers with updated news every minute. Moreover, most of these apps can be downloaded free hence, making online reading experience cost-effective.

To sum it up, while I agree newspaper is still popular commodity, most people have switched to internet because it caters to their needs better. So, it is predicted that newspaper will slowly disappear and become extinct in near future.