8. Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

It is true that environmental issues have been becoming worse in these days because of human activities. There are steps can definitely be taken by governments and individuals to tackle the problems.

In my opinion, air pollution and deforestation are the two main ways that damage the environment. Firstly, humans drive various vehicles for transportation and eat millions of livestock for living on a daily base, which would produce tons of harmful gases into the air. Further, forests are disappearing in recent years because factories and construction areas need woods to operate.

Governments can take actions to deal with the problems mentioned above. On the one hand, strict rules and laws need to enforce to regulate firms and business giants to take their responsibilities for reducing the damages on the environment. On the other hand, more money should be reallocated from other areas to environmental protections, implementing actions such as planting more trees, encouraging the use of alternative energy sources and purifying waters.

At the same time, individuals can make a difference in working with governments. Everyone in the world should be aware of the severity of environmental issues and make some changes about current lifestyles. For example, residents can choose to take public transportation more often and there will be less and less private cars on the road and an increasing number of people also decide not to eat or eat less meat. All of those movements will certainly cut down the emission of greenhouse gases.

In conclusion, both government and individuals need to fight together to prevent our planet from destroying.