Admission to art galleries or museums should be free of charge. Do you agree or disagree?

Whether should museums and galleries offer free entrance has been a heated debate in the recent years. While strong support for this idea exists on the ground, however, there are others, who fiercely condemn it since their own reasons. In this essay, I will demonstrate both perspectives and then give my opinion on the matter.

On the one hand, the preliminary reason why admission fee for museums should not be free is that they need to have steady income to cover its cost. Museums or galleries have the same obligation as other enterprises to enforce the government’s policies namely: taxes payment, insurance, payroll, … Therefore, the money that collected by entry fee is using to pay for all the demands and requirements to continue and maintain the museum.

On the other hand, there are numerous reasons why free entrance is supported. Initially, not only free charge can boost the feeling of pride in younger generation but it also raise the feeling of national unity and identity. To be more specific, museums display various valuable historical items, collections which can characterize the ways of communication and working of indigenous in the past. It gives us a depth understanding of how arduous and strenuous the past life is so that we can fully comprehend the sacrifice of our ancestors. Hence, we can inherit and devote to the development and nourish our nation.

All things considered, while some people argue for the charge requirements, other advocate for the free entrance museum admission. I believe that in order to have enriching and enlightening experience, museums should offer a discount to promote and attract prospective customers.