Admittedly, it is often argued that increasing the severity of penalties will cause most drivers to conform with traffic laws

People generally have opposing views about whether the government should administer strict punishments for traffic offences. There is a perception that this is the most workable measure to make roads less hazardous. However, I do not completely agree with this statement and believe that a range of other methods can be implemented together to foster careful driving.

Admittedly, it is often argued that increasing the severity of penalties will cause most drivers to conform with traffic laws. This argument emphasizes that severe punishments such as heavy fines, indefinite license suspension or even long prison sentences will undoubtedly make drivers to hesitate for a few seconds before breaking any traffic regulation. One typical example is Canada, which is almost always among the countries with the smallest number of motor vehicle fatalities. It is widely acknowledged that rigorous penalties are the key contributor to such an impressive outcome since reckless drivers here could receive the traffic ticket of up to several thousand dollars for speeding.

Nevertheless, I side with those who contend that safe driving routines can be formed in various ways without punishing traffic offenders by means of severe penalties such as imprisonment. One principal method is to educate people properly in driving schools and educational institutions before they drive in traffic. Furthermore, the government could allocate more funding to the Ministry of Transport for them to construct new public transport systems, thereby diminishing the number of private vehicles on roads and traffic accidents as well. There is little room for doubt that a flexible combination of such approaches is of paramount importance to dealing with this issue.

In conclusion, although it is suggested that imposing strict punishments will be more effective than other measures in reducing the number of traffic offenders and collisions on the road, I believe that it does not always generate the desired outcomes.