The advantages and disadvantages of the internet

In this day and age, people live in the world of technology and internet, and there is no denying that internet gives people many benefits and helps them do a lot of things in life. However, people cannot avoid some problems and drawbacks which internet causes. The following essay takes a look at both sides of the internet.

One evident benefit to using internet is that it gives a chance to communicate with people in virtually in any part of the world. People are living in the COVID-19 pandemic, so everything is kept indoor and we cannot meet our friends or relatives in person. Therefore, the best way to stay safe is that people work, study and connect through internet by video call and messages. Another benefit is that internet is a powerful search engines. When people have any question in their mind, they can have the answer for that question in a split second by searching on the internet. There are a lot of available and useful information in the internet. In addition, internet is now a place to shopping. Everything can be bought on the internet in a few second with simple procedure. For example, instead of going to the supermarket to buy a pizza in thirty minutes or an hour driving, buyers just use their mobile phone and order the pizza by a few simple steps, and then they can have it in 5 to 10 minutes.

On the contrary, for all its advantages, the internet has its ugly sides too. Firstly, there is a lot of information in the internet, but it has much unchecked information. When a student search about why the sky is blue, plenty of information will appear, and they do not know which is the reliable information. Similarly, it can confuse people by chaos and take a lot of time of user to find a good result. Secondly, it is the privacy problem. To sign in or buy something online, customers have to provide their personal information, and the online security policies are still not really safe and effective. Therefore, the information of clients can be stolen and used for inadequate purposes. Finally, internet can create addiction. For instance, it is easy to see the children and their parents spend hours playing video games or surfing social networks instead of reading book or talking to each other. Moreover, people see the world in the internet more important than the real life.

Taking everything into consideration, internet has the crucial role nowadays. It gives opportunities to communicate, the tool to search, and the place to shop. However, wrong information, privacy problem, and addiction are some drawbacks of internet. Therefore, people should know how to use it appropriate way and make it as a tool to support our work and life.