All over the world, the number of overweight people are growing. What do you feel are the major causes of this? What are the effects

Being overweight poses a major challenge in the world today as the number of overweight people grows over time. The need to enlighten the public to help reduce the growing figures is of utmost importance, hence the causes and the corresponding effects will therefore be analyzed.

Firstly, unhealthy eating and lack of exercise are some of the major causes of obesity. For instance, most young people today prefer to eat fast foods , snacks and junks. These foods are not nutrient dense but rather fattening. More also, having to exercise is seen as a Herculean task by young adults today. The benefits of exercise can not be over emphasized as this helps burn fat and keep the body fit. This therefore highlights the some of the reasons of the growing number of over weight people.

On the other hand, there are some effects of having too much weight on the health of an individual. Some examples are seen in the High blood pressure, heart disease and stroke. Overweight people may experience any of the above listed due to high amounts of cholesterol in the blood vessels. This could ultimately lead to death.

Summarily, it is important to enlighten and encourage the public to practice health living especially in lifestyle modifications. In this way, the number of overweight people may be reduced.