What are the advantages and disadvantages of maternity leave? Which side do you feel outweighs the other.

Having a short break after the birth of a child is widely accepted and practiced all over the world. It is believed that there are pros and cons associated with going on maternity leave. In my opinion, maternity leave is more advantageous than it is disadvantageous which will be shown.

On the one hand, a much needed rest is essential after the rigorous process of pregnancy and child delivery. This helps the mother recuperate and heal properly, and also understand and bond well with her baby. For example, a woman who has just had a Caesarean section is expected to take at least three months rest for the incision site and the body generally to heal, which is also the case of vaginal deliveries. Within this period, the mother is expected to take care of her newborn who is delicate and precious at this time by creating a healthy environment for the new baby, and also form a strong bond with her child. Thus, this proves that the need for maternal leave is of paramount importance.

On the other hand, the absence of a woman after the birth of her baby is felt in her place of work. An example is seen especially in cases of women who supervise a business. This may lead to a decrease in the efficiency and output of the company. It is also not favorable to women who are not qualified for a paid maternity leave as this will lead to some financial difficulties which will not be easy to cope with. Although this may be an unpleasant situation, it may not always be the case for many who receive support from family and friends.

In conclusion, the benefits of taking a time off after the delivery of a child outweighs the demerits. After all, a healthy mom raises a healthy child which supports the saying that “Health is life”. I recommend that pregnant women be encouraged to take maternity leaves and also be educated on the benefits.