Although modern life has improved people's standard of living, people are not generally happy with their lives

It had become a common knowledge that even when our life has been becoming more and more convenient in the past few decades thanks to the advancements of modern life, many people are not happy. This essay will analyze the causes of this seemingly unreasonable unhappiness.

To fully understand this matter, we need to grasp the meaning of happiness. To me, in short, it indicates a state in which people feel satisfied and more important thankful. However, modern life seems to have little ability to provide these feelings.

Although technology has made our life much easier, it also made us ungrateful. Fifty years ago, if you wanted to communicate with a friend living abroad, you would have to pay lots of money and wait for days for every written letter. Because of all the difficulties one has to overcome, receiving a reply provokes an intense feeling of delight and thankfulness in the correspondents. Now, it takes a few seconds for messages to travel around the globe through a free platform. So convenient it had become for us that we see it as a trivial activity, just as many utilities out there. As a result, we lose our appreciation of lots of improved things.

Moreover, modern life also makes it harder to have satisfaction. The reason for this is because there always seems to be something better than what we possess. Human nature is greedy, and modern life encourages it with many options for everything. For instance, your phone might not be the best in the market since there are so many versions of phones, and even if it is the best now, it will be replaced shortly. This makes some people, especially ones who are only pleased when they have the best belongings, unfulfilled.

Based on what we have discussed, it is safe to say that ancient people were happier than we are nowadays. If we do not find a way to be happy in whatever situation, the future will bring even more misery.