Do you agree that supermarkets are a threat to small shops and local communities?

Some people think that modern supermarkets are posing a negative impact on small shops and local communities. While I accept that the number of supermarkets is gradually increasing in lots of countries, I believe that there is still a great need for corner shops and local communities in today's world.

It is true that nowadays more and more citizens tend to do the shopping in big hypermarkets. First, customers cannot only get all the essential supplies without moving a lot but they are also offered a lot of tempting promotions. As a result, this can save busy people a large amount of time and money. The second reason is that supermarkets have several preferred facilities which small shops do not have. For example, finding a parking spot in a supermarket is easier than outside a corner shop.

However, I would argue that although small shops and local communities have lost some local customers, they have still found ways to bounce back and remain business. Firstly, some local shops choose to specialise in one type of products that is hardly sold in supermarkets. This ingenious method makes those shops stand out and get more clients. Secondly, most foreign tourists come from developed countries so that they have become so used to large ordinary hypermarkets. Therefore, travellers are more likely to be captivated by unique shops with intriguing souvenirs.

In conclusion, while I agree that supermarkets presents a real threat to small shops and local communities, I do not think that the harmful effects cannot be tackled.