Although more and more people read the news on the internet, newspaper will remain the main source of news for the majority of people. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

In contemporary society, with the development of technology, online newspaper has become more and more prevalent. Thus, a heated debate has been sparked off over whether traditional newspaper or online news is the most popular form of newspaper. From my stance, while I share with the view that newspaper still remain its position in several parts of the community I believe that reading news on the Internet is more convenient than the traditional way.

To begin with, in comparison with online news, traditional newspapers still has some merits. The first obvious point is the familiarity of the elder generation. For the senior, reading paper printed news has become a common habit for a long time, so it might not be easy to adapt to the online version. Furthermore, several studies have revealed that reading in paper can be beneficial to concentrate and memorize the content of the information.

Nonetheless, there are a wide range of factors contributing to the popularity of online news. In terms of the convenience, thanks to the widespreadness of the Internet and various technical devices, reading online has become more straightforward to access. Indeed, instead of going out to buy a newspaper, readers now can get update with the breaking information just at home via a laptop or tablet. An another key reason why a large number of people prefer online news to traditional newspaper is that the majority of them are provided for free. Therefore, online news seems to be an economical solution and could save a decent amount of money.

In conclusion, notwithstanding newspaper is still popular among the elder community and has some advantages, my standpoint is that online news has become the major source of information in modern world owing to its numerous practical values.