Although more and more people read the news on the internet, newspaper will remain the main source of news for the majority of people. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Newspaper has played a crucial role in providing news throughout the world. However, I believe that digital media is likely to replace its position.

The most important reason for that is the availability of smartphones. They are becoming cheaper and even in a low income country, everybody could afford their own personal devices and these handhelds are able to connect to the internet to satisfy their customers’ need. Publishers and press take advantages of high technology to publish books and news online. Therefore, people from any corner of the world are highly accessible to the most updated information without geographical boundary.

The another cause is about time saving. Newspapers need some time to edit and print out before in the audience’s hands. Meanwhile in a digital version, reporters have just published the news and immediately, everyone who has subscribed to the online press would read or watch the events without any interruption of time. Therefore, more and more people are likely to stick with cyber world when everything seems to be available for them. Instead, they just stay at home or office and know everything happen in the world, rather than going to the bookstores to buy a newspaper. This could save them time and money because the news online is free and much accessible.

Although in the few decades ago, newspaper was the dominant means of providing news throughout the globe, I am of convinced that the digital version would become the major source of information due to its availability and the expending in utilizing personal devices.