Although more and more people read the news on the internet, newspaper will remain the main source of news for the majority of people. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

In recent years, with the rapid development of information and technology, there has been an increase in the number of people who read online news. Some individuals believe that printed news will still be the crucial source of information for a major part of population in the long term. I personally disagree with this view because of the following reasons.

On the one hand, I agree that traditional newspaper still plays an important role in our daily life. Firstly, in a newspaper, the articles and columns are well designed and printed in large size papers, which makes it easier for the readers to focus on the writing. For example, in “Tuoitre” newspaper, people can read a whole news in each column at the same time without having to manipulate the device as we have to do on smartphones or laptops. In addition, it has been believed that mainstream newspapers are a reliable source of information which provide people with a wide range of knowledge including economy, politics, culture and society, etc.

Nevertheless, I would argue that online news will become dominant in the future. The first reason is that compared with traditional news, digital news are quick, succinct and immediate which allow individuals to always keep instantly updated with global information. For example, we can know about the results of SEA Games immediately after each competition. Furthermore, online media channels are very convenient for users. The fact is that these days high tech devices have been becoming an integral part of human’s life and people are more likely to use their mobile phones or tablets to read news, work or entertain. As a result, traditional newspaper are less and less consumed.

In conclusion, there is a shift towards the channels in which people choose to consume news and I believe that news based – internet will overshadow conventional news in the near future.