An American film actor once said, “Tomorrow is important and precious”. Some people think individuals and society should pay more attention to the future than to the present. Do you agree or disagree?

I certainly support the view. One should most definitely keep the future in mind and not fritter away everything to enjoy the present. One should always remember that the present would one day transform into the future, and when it eventually does, it should be safe and secure. The same holds true for societies. Let us consider why it is so important to be prepared for the coming time.

The mortality rate has come down and the span of life is generally longer, but the period of earning is comparatively limited. Nobody knows how long he would live, but the age of retirement is generally fixed. One cannot work indefinitely. Therefore, during his earning span, he has to make sure that he puts aside enough money that will hold him in good stead in his later years when he will be able to work no more. Further, the requirements in old age are sometimes more than a person’s needs during the period of his youth. Deteriorating health translates into higher medical bills and hospital charges. Being weak and infirm, one needs to spend more on commuting. He will need to hire assistants to help in the house.

Next comes the needs of the family. One has to provide for the education and

marriage expenses of the dependent members of the family, like children and even grandchildren. One has to pay one’s insurance premiums, and even for the day-to-day needs of the younger members of the family, till such time as they are employed and earning. Moreover, one may incur extra expenditure on leisure activities. People generally travel more after retirement to meet their relatives and friends who may be settled and staying far away from them. There would also be the usual expenses on house maintenance and repair, and the payment of personal and property taxes.

The societies should also think about tomorrow. Neighborhoods should be planned nicely. Everyone should participate in community projects. Good educational institutes and health centers should be there in all areas. If only today is looked into and no planning is done for tomorrow then crime and violence would increase in society and everyone would suffer.

Therefore, it is imperative that people and societies plan wisely for the future. If one has saved enough, one can sit back and enjoy peace and comfort in one’s later years and even witness the smile of joy on the faces of one’s children. If he has saved not, then the journey ahead would be dreary and dismal indeed.