Are vocabulary skills really important to students?

Vocabulary skills do significant positive effects on English learners in the studying process. However, many people suppose that vocabulary skills are not necessary, because they embarrass students by a lot of rules. In fact, vocabulary skills are a magic technique, due to the diversity meaning in different situations. In my opinion, I firmly believe that vocabulary skills support a lots student who studies foreign languages.

The premier reason is vocabulary skills support our competence in receiving language. First and foremost, vocabulary skills are a considerable factor in reading comprehension. Absolutely, we cannot understand the whole text, nor understand all the meaning of ambiguous words. As a result, vocabulary skills help learners guess the meaning and main idea bases on the presuppositions and situations of the given text. Furthermore, perhaps, we know generally the meaning of words depends on prefixes and suffixes. ​Also, vocabulary skills are really crucial in listening. Indeed, listening is quite hard, so we are not able to listen clearly word by word. Therefore; we should utilize some skills namely, collocation, phrasal verbs, suffixes to figure out the unclear words of speakers.

Besides reading, and listening we also have to transmit language, and these skills also require vocabulary skills. First, the lexicon plays an essential role in messaging through utterance. Undoubtedly, we need to know a lot of words as well as their usage in a particular situation, thus; we speak fluently without misunderstanding of using words in the wrong situation which may lead to conflict. Next, it is a must in academic writing. Of course, taking advantage of the similar meaning of different words will make your writing more varied. However, be careful when choosing synonyms because they do not always correct. Not to mention, In literature, we have to master our lexical ability to create literary devices. To illustrate, we have to find the words that start with the same consonant sound to form alliteration, or analysis deeply the meaning of words which suitable for metaphor, irony, and synecdoche.

In conclusion, Despite people's refutation in benefits of vocabulary skill. I still strongly believe in my point of view that these skills assist students to develop language competence besides reading comprehension. It is also the method to communicate effectively