Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In today's developing world, the proliferation of technology has made it possible for the employees as well as students to partake in distance working and learning. However, there are various controversial ideas about whether it brings merits or adverse effects. From my point of view, although working and studying from home can, to some extent, pose some problems, I am of the opinion that there are a myriad of bright sides to this trend.

One thing worth considering is that distance learning and working can nourish the productivity. While some people contend that only getting classroom or workplace atmosphere can they perform well and feel motivated, I believe that they can get distracted easily from the co-workers or friends. By contrast, if they work from home by themselves, they can focus solely on the tasks and finish them at their own pace and timetable, such as for the night owl or the morning person. Moreover, in lieu of spending astronomical time and money commuting to the company or school, people can utilize it for having their work done. As a result, there will be higher level of productivity and constructive way of working.

Furthermore, another thing to notice is that online working system can offer businesses and students great opportunities to find ample employee resources or to get far educational curriculum. Obviously, if the company applies distance working, they can expand their labour market and recruit suitable employees for hard-to-fill positions. Besides, when it comes to education, the students from poor backgrounds or live far from school can get access to schooling at a vantage point, thanks to the existence of technology and gadgets. According to empirical research in University of People, 40% of children form marginalized areas can earn the certificate by online learning. Without doubt, more undergraduates can fulfill their dreams of learning through those modern devices at home.

In conclusion, while there are inevitable drawbacks of online working and learning, I still, however, believe that they offer greater benefits including effective learning and working, higher productivity, better chances for employment and studying for children from remote areas.