Many of the world’s cities are currently facing a serious housing shortage. What are some of the reasons for this shortage and what solutions can you suggest?

In today’s modern world, the overpopulation in cosmopolitan cities has caused a barrage of problems such as lower life quality, unemployment, etc. When it comes to accommodation, there has been a staggering rise in the housing shortage. From my point of view, there are myriads of reasons for this situation as well as the variety of solutions to address it.

It is obvious that the housing shortage can be attributable to the great number of inflows of immigrants into the inner city in search of better living standards. They have poured into the cities at an unprecedented level in recent years, which has made it difficult for the government to supply sufficient accommodation to that excess demand. Moreover, it is the increasing speculation in the real-estate market that has deterred ordinary citizens from getting their private house. For example, if the wealthy keep purchasing second homes or owning buy-to-let properties, they will tend to inflate the prices and pass it on to the buyers. That is how housing becomes out of budget to the low-income people. Final underlying cause for the shortage of housing is due to the use of valuable land for recreational purposes. The space for parks, stadiums and the like has tied up the land for residential use, thus making it more competitive to build up an apartment or a condo.

To tackle this problem, there are several possible solutions that can be done with concerted effort of the citizens and government. One thing worth considering is that the government can implement certain rules or cater disincentives to the buy-to-let home-buyers. By increasing the tax as well as discouraging taking out mortgages, there will be higher chances of the ordinary-buyers getting the house with reasonable price. Another thing to notice is that only when the government allocates people to different parts of the country can they alleviate the housing demands inside the cities. Take Ho Chi MInh City as an example, the federal government has encouraged people to move to satellite cities with the same convenience and services as they can get inside the city. This will result in more reasonable housing demands in all sectors of the nation, not just within the big cities.

In conclusion, the ample demands for housing have been alarming recently due to the overpopulation, the housing bubbles in the real-estate market and inappropriate city planning. Fortunately, there are a myriad of different keys to solve this problem including impeding buy-to-let buyers and more efficient urban population growth.