Around the world more and more people today are living in urban areas.

Why is this?

What problems does this cause?

In recent decades, living in the city is becoming popular amid the society around the globe where a new evidence shows a growing number of people settling in urban areas. Several reasons as, facility and people belief, can be involved and also some problems can emerge due to this change.

facilities and access in the town are proven more adequate when compared to in the village. For instance, shop facilities are spread widely in the city, therefore, people can fulfil daily needs easily and then transportation access linked everywhere which can ease people to run and mobilise their business and activities. Furthermore, the another motive in this issue is a strong belief amid society especially in developing countries that people will succeed, get prosperity and well-being when settling in urban areas. this is found in Indonesia where individuals tend to reside in the city even though they have insufficient knowledge and skills because of this belief.

unequal infrastructure development may be the main problem caused by this phenomenon. The government more focuses on the city to improve the facilities, access and places to support people living in the city than establishing infrastructure in rural area and village which more need to modernise. this condition will significantly affect economic growth between city and village. The another effect due to this change is overpopulation in the town. this may cause homeless and poor living condition for some people since most condition in the developing countries, the local government is unable to provide affordable housing for them.

In a nutshell, adequate facilities and access and society belief about living in the city are the key issues behind this trend which can create also some problems as overpopulation and unequal infrastructure establishment.