Art classes like painting and drawing is important to students’ development and it should be compulsory in high school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that art class is beneficial to students’ personal development, therefore it ought to be a core lesson in high school. I partly agree with this opinion, but I think that it is impractical for everyone to attend the art courses.

Those who think that art should be required in high school emphasize that painting and drawing play an important role in cultivating students’ manifold talents. Although academic education is important, art-related courses are equally indispensable because the popularity of art courses could, to large extent, mould one’s temperament, enhance one’s art accomplishment, instill confidence into one’s heart. Besides, as a number of students are now overburdened with exam-oriented education, they need to alleviate their pressure, and studying art course can be considered as an effective relaxing way, which helps students to brave academic challenges energetically. In addition, by taking art classes, students may come out of their shell socially and make friends with those with similar interests.

While art courses have a lot of merits, I still hold the idea that it is unrealistic to set them as a compulsory lesson. First of all, as only few might take art as their lifelong career in the future, setting art courses as obligatory ones will just waste a vast majority students’ precious time. Compared with these classes, they prefer to spend time learning main courses such as math or physics, which is more practical for them to attend college or hunt jobs. Furthermore, the painting class may make those less-interested students feel difficult to handle with and once they cannot get the ideal performance, they tend to be frustrated. Therefore, it is reasonable to set the art class as an elective. Those who are interested in painting could get professional direction there.

In conclusion, art class is indeed important to cultivate well-rounded high school students, but it should not be promoted as a compulsory lesson.