artists

In principle, every person has the right to communicate his or her views by any means and in any form, known as the right to freedom of expression. However, there has been a lot of debate whether artists should be given unrestricted freedom to express their thoughts through their works, such as words, pictures, music and films. I am of mixed opinions on this.

Although a citizen’s freedom of speech is protected by law, artists should not be treated as an ordinary citizens. Because of wide appeal of artworks, the artists can easily enlist the empathy of the audience and make their views profoundly influential over public opinions. On the other hand, freedom of speech does not automatically suggest that one has the rights to express any judgement, make any statement and deliver any message regardless of contents. If it contains racial elements, radical views toward government, and other objectionable contents, the freedom should be restrained. Artists are not an exception.

Apart from artworks that cause social and political unrest, some other types of artworks should be censored as well. In order to increase the visual impact of their works of arts, some artists introduce unusual or even offensive images, without considering the feelings of intended viewers. Many obscene works appear in the guise of artworks, abuse graphic sexual images and expose the public to those unwelcome messages. It will pose a threat on the welfare of the audience, especially that of children. The authority should discriminate between artworks and bawdy works and sanction restrictions.

According to the above discussion, people can reach a conclusion that artists are entitled to freedom of speech, although some of the artworks should be thoroughly examined before being available to the public.