Some people believe that television is a powerful educational tool. Other people believe that television is nothing more than mindless entertainment and should be discouraged.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Nowadays, watching televisions are set to play a larger part in people's daily lives than ever. there has been a perception that tv could not perform the function as an education tool but rather than a wasteful entertaininment. This view is open to debate.

On the bright side, television has played the function of a supportive and reinforcement device. it is working as an effective tool in education as it helps to accomplish the aims and objectives of education. Some people might argue that watching tv, a common leisure activity, has seriously hampered the viewers' development in various fields. Their argument is based on an assumption that tv watchers are passive when absorbing information presented by channels and respond with no active thinking. However, there is evidence that television progammes are becomming increasingly educational and instructive. For example, quiz shows encourages critical thinking, while educational channels, such as Discovery, broaden watchers' knowledge. Whild advertisments bear aesthetical and ideological values, talk shows display the art of languages.

On the contrary, it is believed that television is nothing but a senseless entertainment. Learning through traditional means of education is more well-known rather than gaining knowledge with the help of technology. For instance, reading a book and watching it on tv is not the same. The in-depth advertance that the tv provides is lacking in details.

In conclusion, people still prefer accquire knowledge through technology but it is not an alternative for written education. Therefore, conventional and technological knowledge both an equivalent role in the education system