Because computers can translate all languages very quickly and accurately, learning a foreign language is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is perceived by many that technology can help translate all languages extremely easily and accurately, so learning a foreign language is not essential anymore. In opinion, I totally disagree with this view point.

Hardly can people deny that computers are very useful in translating a foreign language to our mother language. Indeed, Google website is able to translate a long paragraph in English to Vietnamese in a second. As a result, you can use it to solve your problems quickly regarding languages. The other point which needs to be mentioned is that language programs are more accurate due to that fact that they are designed for this function.

However, I’m convinced that computers cannot replace learning other languages. Indeed, people who need to live in other countries have to study foreign language so that they can study or work when people around them do not use their mother language due to that fact that they cannot reply on high technology all the time. For instance, you cannot carry a computer whenever you have a conversation with other people because it’s not only inconvenient but also weird to ask the person who you talk to wait for you using Google translates all what you said. In addition, people who can speak the second language have more opportunities to get better job because employers absolutely prefer candidates who have ability to communicate in foreign languages.

In conclusion, although computer can translate a foreign language quickly as well as accurately, I have a strong belief that it cannot replace studying a second language.