The best curriculum is not one based on a static body of knowledge, but one which teaches students to cope with change. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
Plenty of schools and educational institutes worldwide have been teaching obsolete subjects and
concepts to generations. Many would argue that today's schools should focus more on
adaptability than traditional, discrete subjects. In my opinion, although there is a strong
argument for this contention given the disruptive nature of modern industries, it is nonetheless
essential to preserve the traditional role of subjects in a curriculum. This essay shall highlight my
opinion in the upcoming paragraphs.
Those who support this reform contend that the skills needed for the modern work environment
are changing rapidly. Past generations could rely on subjects learned in high school and
university, such as those related to accounting, finance, and so on, providing lasting job security.
This guarantee is less stable now due to advances in automation and technology. For instance,
human workers are being phased out of specific roles and jobs at many companies and replaced
by cheap software as the former cannot update their skills as fast as the latter. Therefore, schools
should teach adaptable methods for handling change to help them cope with an uncertain future
job market.
Logically, most of the subjects, such as math, sciences, history, physical education, etc., will not
yield practical skills used daily throughout life, which is the source of many later complaints about
school curriculum. An excellent example of this would be Steve Jobs's classes about calligraphy
in university, which later informed the lasting design of computer interfaces and word
processors.
In conclusion, despite realistic employment apprehensions, it is indispensable for students to
possess foundational knowledge about various disciplines. Moreover, the contrast between
subject knowledge and flexible skills is not always essential.