‘Some people believe that children should spend all of their free time with their families. Others believe that this is unnecessary or even negative.

Discuss the possible arguments on both sides, and say which side you personally support.

It is undeniable that parents play an important role in their children, consequently, many people believe that children should spend all their free time with their families. However, others disagree with this view. There are valid arguments on both sides, which we will discuss now.

On the one hand, supporters point out that children can learn foundational skills from their families. Children learn and follow the rules of behavior and actions of parents thereby developing skills and parents also easily educate their children when they misbehave. In addition, children who are always with their parents can minimize the risk of being bullied and abducted. Furthermore, children spend all their time with their families helping to bridge generational gaps in the family. Children will have more time to talk with adults and nurture family affection.

On the contrary, some people think that children do not necessarily spend all their time with their families because, besides family, they also have other relationships, especially friends. Children need time to play with friends, learn from friends and explore other aspects. This can be seen when children play with other children near the house, they will learn to share toys, work collaboratively and learn to build relationships and get along with friends. And young people need time for themselves so they can learn to be independent and learn to grow and heal themselves. Children will eventually grow up, they need to know how to overcome negative emotions, be independent at work and face difficult situations.

In summary, although children should spend most of their time with their parents, they also need more space to interact with their peers to develop their social skills through interaction. There should be a balance between spending time with parents and interacting as both are very important for a child's stage of development.