The best curriculum is not one based on a static body of knowledge, but one which teaches students to cope with change. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The younger generation is the future; therefore, they always obtain the world’s attention in a lot of spheres, especially in education. Some people say that the optimal academic programme should teach students how to adapt to adjustments instead of providing a fundamental source of information. I disagree with this argument, and I will explain the reasons in the following paragraphs.

Traditional education provides children with the necessary information and skills in order to grow up and develop the ability to learn advanced knowledge in later life. First, fundamental information ranging from literate to basic math, science, and biology assist them to integrate more easily with the world. Moreover, in the future, without this knowledge, they cannot apply for higher education, for example, graduated or post-graduated. As a result, they may be unemployed. Secondly, the conventional curriculum at schools also helps children obtain practical skills, such as problem-solving, time-management, and interpersonal skills, that will give them the capacity to overcome difficult situations they may encounter in their lives. Besides, with these skills and knowledge, they will become confident, civilized, and intellectual people.

Admittedly, the world is changing every day; therefore, learning new information and skills is also needed. Computer and technology skills, for example, or basic economics knowledge. However, it is hard to absorb this new knowledge without a basic understanding.

In conclusion, everyone needs static background information because it helps them understand the fundamental rules that govern the planet. Children should learn this information in their curriculum at school before they learn any others.