The best way to ensure the growth of children is to make parents take parenting courses. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that it is compulsory for parents to undertake courses in order to make sure that their offspring will develop well. Although I think that these types of classes are beneficial, I do not agree that they are the most effective method.

On the one hand, parenting courses could equip parents with the necessary knowledge and skills to upbringing their children at different developmental stages. Many first-time parents could be overwhelmed by the number of problems that they have to tackle every day when they raise their newborn infant. If parents did not have instructions from these kinds of classes, they would be confused and lead to serious consequences in the future. For example, having no expertise in teaching kids will increase the likelihood of committing a crime such as petty theft or drug trading when they go through adolescence. Furthermore, parenting courses will also help parents understand the psychology of their children and deal with puberty issues.

However, while parenting courses provide a lot of good skills and information, they are not suitable for parents who have financial struggles and limited time. People who belong to the underprivileged class have to work overtime or do various types of jobs just to make ends meet, hence, they do not have enough money and time for extra activities. In addition, many people believe that parenting is an innate skill that every father and mother can naturally access once they have a child. For instance, many mothers instinctively know how to hold and care for their offspring as soon as it is born. Many people have their own ideas about what good parenting involves due to their own upbringing, and cultural influences.

In conclusion, despite some advantages of parenting courses, I think that it should be up to parents to decide whether to participate in such courses or not.