The best way to reduce youth crimes is to educate their parents with parental skills.

To what extent you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the crime rates in societies are considerably increasing, especially youth crime. educating youngsters to be law-abiding has always been a much-debated topic. it is generally believed that the optimal method to decrease juvenile delinquency is to help their parents develop effective parenting skills. While this may work to a certain extent, I would argue there are more holistic approaches to the issue of juvenile delinquency.

it is understandable why some people advocate educating parental skills would reduce youth crime. The main driving factor behind this view is that parents are a vital influence in shaping a child’s personality and teaching the right moral values. However, this thinking is flawed because not only parents but also schools have responsibility for educating their adolescent children. In fact, there is plenty of youngsters who turn to crime or drugs not because of lacking parental involvement but the bad influence from their friends, both inside and outside of their campus. this is obviously a problem that educating parents cannot address.

Instead of educating parents, schools should contribute to counseling youngsters to be exemplary citizens. In addition to teaching science, secondary institutions should spread knowledge of law enforcement, underscore the repercussions of crime for students. because teenagers spend a significant amount of time to be at school and they are susceptible to harmful influences, it is integral that teachers deter them from unlawful acts and teach them to be law-abiding citizens.

In conclusion, advising parents on parental skills would be ineffective and this issue is better addressed by great assistance from the school.