More people are taking public transport nowadays. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this mode of transport?

It is believed that mass transit is the best vehicle to travel, hence the government should encourage civilians to use buses and trains. In this essay, I will discuss the pros and cons of public transport.

On one hand, public transit has some disadvantages. First off, buses and trains do not take passengers to the precise location, which means they will have to walk to their destinations. This can cause great inconvenience to the people who use mass transit and require them to adjust their schedules. Secondly, public transportation tends to be bustling, especially in rush hour, hence criminals will be able to commit a crime, directly posing an imminent threat to passengers' safety. India is a case in point. Sexual harassment is very prevalent on buses that discourages women to use this model of transport.

On the other hand, I believe that the advantages of mass transit eclipse the disadvantages. Because public transportation has greater capacity than individual car and motorbike, hence they are able to reduce the number of vehicles in circulation and traffic congestion. At the same time, the level of car emission would be dwindled, which contribute to improving air quality. Another argument in favor of public transportation is that they are much economical. car owners have to cover many kinds of expanse, such as gas, maintenance while daily and monthly bus fares are made more affordable by the government subsidies making them were accessible to the public.

In conclusion, while it is true that there are some certain limitations for public transportation, I believe that its advantages are far more significant.