People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
many people argue that foreigners should observe the local customs and traditions
when they come to reside in a new country. I completely agree with this view.
there are important reasons why people should follow the customs when they
settle in a foreign country. Firstly, if newcomers behave according to the local
norms, the resident population will accept them much more readily, they will make
friends more easily and they will earn respect. For example, an entrepreneur who
comes to live in a new country and starts up a business must be aware of the
business practices of that country. there are bound to be many pitfalls, not only
legal ones but also simply in terms of winning and keeping customers by observing
the local way of doing business. Secondly, recent immigrants are likely to be
shunned if they upset local sensibilities. In Singapore, for instance, residents will
consider them dirty and ill-mannered if they litter the street or spit gum in public
places.
In their adopted homeland, newcomers should also adopt the traditions which local
people observe. The principal benefit is the richness of the experience which new
residents will gain from enjoying aspects of local traditions, enabling them to
participate in community life and avoid social isolation. During festivals and
national holidays, especially, they will feel like they ‘belong’ in their new country.
For example, Chinese people in the UK not only celebrate Chinese new year, but
they often attend the local new year celebrations and fireworks in London and
other major cities.
In conclusion, I would certainly argue that people who settle in a new country
should follow local customs and embrace the traditions which local people
observe.