The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Among piles of social catastrophes, environmental degradation is no doubt the utmost issue needing urgent solutions, which inclines some individuals to claim that raising fuel prices is a panacea for all ills. Though I partially comprehend certain views towards such argument, I strongly believe that this measure is, by and large, far from being the best.

At first glance, a dramatic increase in fuel prices will certainly bring forward a few possible ramifications over fuel consumption regarding both environment pollution and climate change. The higher petrol prices are set, as an example, the less people attempt to burn for commuting, thereby alleviating air pollution from vehicles and somewhat easing off the carbon footprint. That is to say, in the act of such extravagant expenditure on traveling, more people undoubtedly will grab public transportation or even cycling in favour of financial saving and a modest contribution to protect the atmosphere from a great deal of toxic exhaust gas. Additionally, not only will numerous roads be relieved from traffic congestion, but also an eco-friendly practice of cycling will benefit humans with a healthy lifestyle.

On the other hand, despite its constructive influences in response to air contamination, this policy is merely a transitory measure and, more often than not, does little to either address the chronic pollution or diminish other threats to the environmental balance. In fact, the implementation of higher fuel price is very much likely to play a heavier burden on citizens, especially those from developing countries, whose lives have struggled enough without the addition of gas bills. This, coupled with such cost escalation of other essential commodities, will certainly constitute a counterproductive situation as it may potentially provoke the community’s disagreement and resentment against the governments. From this point of view, raising costs itself will not decelerate the environmental issues, instead governments should consider other alternative methods by boosting their investments in renewable energy sources, imposing radical crackdowns on smoke emission from factories or introducing tax incentives for the community to go green.

To summarize, I unquestionably refute the view described in the statement. Pushing up fuel expenditure is unnecessary, whereas the environmental problems would remain unsolved, not to mention other social deterioration resulting from the exorbitant expense. Thus, both individuals and governments should take into consideration other feasible instruments in regard to a sustainable and energy-efficient development.