The best way to solve the world s environmental problems is increase the price of fuel To what extend do you agree or disagree

Many people nowadays argue that the most effective method to address the inherent environmental issues is to raise the cost of fossil fuels consumed by private cars and other means of transport. While this approach can directly reduce the number of harmful fumes, I believe that launching global awareness campaigns stands out as a more significant way.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that this radical climate policy might cut down on the poisonous emissions from private vehicles which pollute the environment. Indeed, as the cost per kilometer increases, citizens would have to contemplate the distance and frequency at which people travel on roads, as well as considering available options such as public transportation. If required to travel, commuters would opt to use the more environmentally friendly vehicles for instance buses, bullet trains, and subways. In both these cases, the total amount of noxious s fumes and polluted emissions that caused air pollution is limited and well controlled.

However, an increase in fuel prices can only solve a limited part of the complex environmental issues. In fact, causes of pollution are diverse and numerous, involving the use of plastic products, disposable goods in shopping, or chemical wastes, and contaminated sewage from agricultural and industrial activities. These pollutants pose a threat to the existence of various species, harm the environment, and disturb the ecosystem. For example, according to some researchers, half of China’s population cannot get access to the freshwater, and two-thirds of people residing in rural areas are consuming contaminated sources of water. Many affirm that untreated sewage and plastic products from industrialization are responsible for this reality. Therefore, the most drastic measure would be running a worldwide campaign that heightens consumer awareness about the environmental cost of their shopping habits and pressurizes companies to scale down the use of traditional fuels.

In conclusion, while increasing fuel costs can partly handle the environmental problems by discouraging private transport, the ideal solution would be raising awareness among the public and enterprises. I am also convinced that once more resolute measures are implemented, humans can reverse the repercussions of climate change and environmental issues.