Big salary is much more important than job satisfaction. Do you agree or Disagree?

Some people think having a high paycheck is more necessary when it comes to jobs. However, I disagree as contentment at work results in life fulfilment and lead to faster career growth.

Job satisfaction could bring peopple to get promoted faster as they will enjoy doing their works which leads to an increase of productivity. This results in an improvement of their skill faster and eventually their works will be appreciated more. For instance, the founder of PT Paragon Technology Innovation, Nurhayati Subakat resigned her 9 to 5 job at multinational company to build her own brand, Wardah, despite receiving such high payroll. After 10 years of working, she became the CEO of her own company.

In addition to that, Job satisfaction could also support people attain a fulfilling life as they do not often feel anxious about the amount of salary that they get. This results in less stress and eventually will improve the quality of people's life. For instance, a survey done by McKinsey among creative workers and coorporate workers in 2019 recorded the stress level among the latter was 30% higher than the creative workers. Despite having average 30% lower monthly earnings than the coorporate workers, the creative workers admitted that they were happy doing their jobs.

In all, I believe that it is better for workers to choose job that brings satisfaction, rather than looking for a big salary. It is important for workers to focus on their puspose in life and improiving their competencies.