Blood sports have become a hot topic for debate in recent years. As society develops it is increasingly seen as an uncivilized activity and cruel to the helpless animals that are killed. Blood sports should be banned.

To what extent to you agree or disagree?

Over the past few years, few non-profit organisations, such as PETA, are coming in the favour of no violence against animals. In addition, contemporary society also sees this violence as inhuman and unmoral. This essay entirely agrees with the notion that blood sports should be banned as they make people insensitive towards animals.

How a sport which involves killing of animals can be amusing for people? It is morally wrong to capture animals, and train them to participate in activities such as dog fighting and cock fighting. In order to prepare creatures for such events, their owners treat them with no compassion or affection. In addition, these events leave the participants either dead or in immense pain. Therefore, such sports which take up life of an animal should never be encouraged.

Moreover, blood sports make its spectators less sensitive to animal life. For instance, people who witness such events may feel that it is conceivable to hold such games for entertainment purposes. Also, when an opponent wins, which means the other one dead, spectators may do not have any sympathy for the lost life. They think that it is the part of the game. Thus, hosting and encouraging these sports make the society thoughtless towards other life forms.

In conclusion, even though blood sport can bring lot of enthusiasm among its spectators, killing or hunting of a creature on the name of amusement is preposterous and may result in an inconsiderate society in the future. In my opinion, such sports should be prohibited on immediate basis.