Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences. Discuss both sides of this argument and then give your own opinion.

As computers are becoming increasingly popular in the classrooms, few individuals assert that this is a positive development while others say that it is leading to detrimental consequences. This essay will first converse about the benefits of computer-based learning approach and will argue why its usage is still a no substitute for a real teacher.

Obviously, Computer-based learning helps students to understand a topic effectively since it involves three-dimensional images and audio-visual tools. Pupils can obtain a deeper understanding of a subject which will improve their theoretical knowledge about various concepts. For instance, learners can easily comprehend the working of an internal combustion engine by watching a video tutorial instead of explaining them everything on a blackboard. Moreover, using high-quality graphics can make the learning process a fun activity which the learners will enjoy definitely.

On the other hand, computers cannot assess a student's performance or provide valuable feedback to its user. Electronic devices such as laptops and desktops cannot respond to questions of the pupils and also cannot monitor the performance of a pupil either. In addition to this, these gadgets are incompetent to instil good habits among the learners which a teacher can imbibe. For example, I have learnt the value of punctuality and discipline from my class teacher Mr Shyam Sharma which I would have never grasped from a computer otherwise.

To conclude, even though computers make learning a fun activity, they are incapable of providing motivation and feedback to the pupils in order to improve themselves. No matter how advanced the technology may become a classroom will always require a tutor to instil good characteristics and self-discipline among the students.