Both the poor and the rich find the accessibility into university difficult. Do you agree or disagree?

Higher education is a dream of every student nowadays. All the students regardless of their social class want to get admission into universities. It is disagreed that it is equally challenging for both the rich and the poor to gain access to higher studies. To support this point, use of money, power and social stature by the rich shall be discussed in this essay.

The kids of financially well-off families tend to buy their way into universities using money as donations. One such example was reported in 2006 by a journalist, of Jared Kushner, Donald Trump's son-in-law who got admission into Harvard University after his father made 2.5 million dollars donation to the university, despite his less than stellar high school grades. This is just one of hundreds such cases where millionaires paid donations to get their kids an admission slot that otherwise would have gone to some poor kid with better grades and intellect. This proves our stance that money does play a part in easing rich students' path to prestigious institutes.

Similarly, use of social and political influence for the same purpose has also been seen throughout the world. Admission of Maryam Nawaz daughter of Nawaz Shareef into King Edward Medical University, one of the most prestigious institute, in 1989 when her father was Prime minister of Pakistan, even when her marks were below that of an average student, presents the perfect example of such inappropriate use of power. Many other similar instances can be seen all around the globe. This demonstrates how corruption and insensible use of power plunders the poor of their right and damages the meritocracy. Resultantly, this makes it even harder for the poor to dream of getting into university for higher education.

All in all, this clears the fact that students belonging to elite and upper class of society do have an easier access to universities than their more talented and industrious lower and middle class counterparts. In my view, measures should be taken by universities' administrations to shun their donation policies that although are not illegal, but are immoral. Governments should introduce laws ensuring that merit prevails and admissions are not affected by someone's political or social capital.