Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

The last decade has witnessed myriad advancements in lifestyle and transportation. It is often reported that the amount of people who have their private cars has a strong rose, especially during the last 30 year period and this causes the traffic jams for many big cities where they have a large population. This essay will consider this issue and outline possible ways for governments to prevent citizens from using their own cars.

There is no denying that the problems caused by the increase of car ownership may lead to myriad defects. Firstly, the worth mention is traffic congestion, which may cause citizens to be late for work or school and also painful accidents happen since there is an overwhelming quantity of cars on the roads. Secondly, cities have to face air pollution from car fumes when they are moving on the roads. The more private cars, the more polluted air in our atmosphere.

To begin with, the jam traffic jams in big cities where have the array of cars cannot be avoided but we can reduce this problem by adding a fee when people enter the city center at peak hours. That is to say, people should use their motorbike or public transportation to reduce that fee. Thanks to this cure, we can reduce traffic jams during rush hour and the rate of accidents on the street.

The subsequent measure is that public transportation routes are escalated in order that people can easily travel to where they want. In other words, the limitations of destinations make them confused when using buses or trains to travel. This measure can completely encourage people to cut down the car used and tend to use this financial transportation to minimize transport fees.

In conclusion, the problem resulting from the increasing number of car ownership seems inevitable in today’s society; however, they could be mitigated by various solutions.