Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. Others say films should have educational value. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the past few years, people have witnessed the development of the film industry. It is generally argued by some that films have only one purpose that is entertaining; meanwhile, others dispel this notion, believing that it ought to contain an educational value. Although both sides may present equally valid arguments in support of themselves, I personally incline towards the latter for the rationale that follows.

To begin with, advocates of the first view contend that there is certainly justification worth considering. Perhaps the most credible explanation for this would be that films are place where people can temporarily forget their real-life with drawbacks and burdens. In other words, people can live in another character with new life and imagine what they will do in that virtual life. What is more, films are also medicines that healing people’s minds with golden stories, which do not exist in reality.

Nevertheless, others and I are in the belief that films including educational value raise their worth. To start with, the message which is covered in the story of a film can affect viewers’ minds. A humanistic meaning film puts a good impression on viewers and its remembered longer than an entertaining film. Additionally, adding a value of education to the film is a way to support educating people wisely. To illustrate, people who watch films belong to a wide aged group. That is a chance to raise all people in all aged awareness through a note in the story of the film.

To conclude then, whilst there exists a discussion on the matter, it is difficult to determine which may be more positive. Howbeit, in line with the previous statement, I am convinced to assert that films should have educational value.