Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’

How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Possession of automobiles for individuals has increased dramatically over the past three decades in the major developing in the society and country, it leads to one of the remarkable unsolvable issues for the government nowadays. I totally agree with the provided statements.

To commence with, there are various reasons that cause the traffic congestion. Firstly, the price is not as expensive as the past. In the previous period, cars were considered as niche vehicles, so only wealthy people could afford them. Nevertheless, due to the innovation of technology, the price is cheaper and people have more ways to finance the purchase as a down payment. Secondly, the public transportation system doesn’t cover all the area of the city. Consequently, people have to interchange many sorts of means of transportation before approaching the destination, so people rather acquire their cars instead of using public transport because it’s more convenient.

In order to alleviate the traffic congestion, the government has to make the number of cars on the road decrease by encouraging to use the public transport. Improving the transport structure to cover all the areas of the city can increase commuters to use the public system. Beside that, the government should take the measure that increases the tax and the procedure of registration on car ownerships. This way will persuade people to use the public system because it is lower cost and more convenient.

In conclusion, the growth of car owners is giving a lot of traffic problems, but it can be solved by encouraging people to use an alternative way of transportation.