Cheating in exams is one of the biggest problems in education What do you think about reasons for this Give some solution to solve the problem

One of serious issues in education is cheating during exams such as opening documents and copying others' answer. This essay will explain about the reasons behind and the potential solution to mitigate the problem.

Cheating during tests could be due to many reasons such as underprepared and unconfident. Students who have no preparation about any materials for exams will not be able to answer properly. As a consequence, they usually try to copy their friends' answers or to open any hidden documents. Additionally, students who have studied but have low confidence also have tendency in cheating during their exams. A survey in Indonesia said that unconfident students tended to open hidden documents in order to make sure that they had put the answers correctly. Furthermore, they often shared their answers with friends just to make sure that they have the same answer.

To tackle with the issue, we can change the system of the exams itself from closed book test into open-resource examination. Therefore, students are freely accessing any resource to support their answers. However, changing the system should be followed by changing the quality of the questions. We have to formulate analytical questions which can measure critical thinking ability of students. For instance, instead of using closed questions with multiple choice answers we can use open questions that need to be answered with explanation. Hence, the exams results would be more valid in representing students’ abilities.

To sum up, underprepared and unconfident are the possible reasons contributed to the occurrence of cheating during tests. Related to the issue, changing test model and form of the questions could be offered as solutions.