Childhood obesity is becoming a problem throughout the developed world Because of this some people think that adverts for fast food sweets and sugary snacks should not be allowed in school and college To what extent do you agree or disagree with this

Over the last couple of decades, childhood obesity is raising at an alarming rate and become a burning issue in many industrialized countries. One school of society recons that advertisements of fast foods and snacks should be banned inside the school and collage premises. In my perspective, it will be a complete failure and will not provide any use too tackle this situation of obesity among teenagers.

To begin with, the first and foremost reason for my disagreement is that banning adverts will be worthless as children will continue to see these alluring items outside the institute`s building. They could watch ads about these items on many other platforms like TV, roadside hoarding, internet etc, and get attracted to buy these unhealthy eatables. For example, in a survey in Great Britain, two-third of children admitted that they went to to buy those sugary snacks and sweets by watching their ads on the television or on social media sites.

On the other hand, proponents of this policy claims that banning advertises from schools and colleges will be an appropriate solution. They claim that due to it, students will start eating home cooked food and consequently improve their health. However, a report show that this would have minimal impact and will hardly influence their choices. Instead, raising awareness among them will be much beneficial and had a significantly affected their options of food.

To conclude, since children are exposed to many other means of advertisements and banning adverts in educational buildings have a negligible effect on children behavior towards eatables, prohibiting advertisements will be meaningless and have no value to mitigate childhood obesity levels.