Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television However television cannot replace the book as a learning tool which is why children are less well educated today To what extent do you agree with this statement

While children’s priority now is watching television, many believe that it is impossible for television to be a better learning tool than books. From my perspective, although reading books plays a vital role in educating students, watching television still influences children more profoundly than books and thus can replace books.

Admittedly, reading books does benefit children in certain ways. First and foremost, it enables juveniles to broaden their horizons. To illustrate, books usually contain a wide variety of knowledge, which can easily help children enhance their understanding in every field. Secondly, books also assist children in practicing patience. When children are motivated to read books, they will patiently read every page of books, or else they cannot comprehend those books’ meaning.

Nevertheless, it is the television that benefits the youth more than the book. To begin with, the television’s knowledge is more accurate than the book’s. All information delivered via the television is censored extremely carefully before broadcast, otherwise the flawed content will be exposed to the whole country; whereas in the process of censoring books, the publishers may make an error which can easily be forgiven because the amount of readers may not be as enormous as television’s. Secondly, information from television is more attractive and understandable. Since television station’s goal is to create a programme which is short and utmost appealing, editors are urged to broadcast a programme such as cartoons, which not only attracts children by their drawing but also summarizes the message short enough for the time limit without being obscure. Furthermore, children tend to remember a programme that impresses them like that.

To conclude, in comparison with books, watching television is more beneficial and thus able to replace books.