Children nowadays watch significantly more television than those in the past, which reduces their activity levels accordingly.

In fact, television has become an integral feature of almost every household in the word. Therefore, children undoubtedly spend more time watching TV than previous generations and less time outdoors, I am convinced that there are certain reasons for this phenomenon, and that some possible/ feasible solutions can be taken to encourage/ motivate children to be more physically active.

Firstly, televisions/ television sets have become much more accessible thanks to the discount/ reduction in television prices. Besides, the increase in the number as well as the improvement in the quality of interesting TV programs targeting children, such as cartoons, attracts a huge number of children viewers. Another reason for the rise in television viewing is related to the amount of time that children have. Due to studying nearly all day long, children are simply too tired to go out or play sports, but watch television.

Nevertheless, it is significant that children spend enough time to play outdoors. One measure which can be taken to enhance children to be active is spending time for outdoor activities with them, as regards ice-skating or going to the sea for a swim. Besides, running exciting open-air physical activities or camps for kids is another way to encourage young children to get more involved in activities. Similarly, schools can run physical education classes as a part of their curriculum to ensure that recommended levels of physical activities are completed every day. Lastly, television can bring awareness - raising programs and ideas of physical activities on their broadcasts.

In general, the discount on TVs and high-quality programs for children together with the volume of time that children have poses (contributes to) the problem. However, as discussed above, nowadays, there are a number of initiatives that can help combat the problems of increasing television viewing and reducing physical activities in children.