Children nowadays watch TV programmes more than ever before. Is watching television good or bad for children?

In light of the proliferation of television programmes, the amount of time children consume on television tends to be higher than ever before. Despite several insignificant drawbacks, I am of the opinion that they are outweighed by television’s indispensable benefits.

There are several drawbacks when children are addicted to television for a long time. Firstly, the more time children spend lying down in front of the television’s scene, the worse their educational achievements are, which is explained by their neglected minds and lack of concentration on their courses at school. Furthermore, children fail to strike a balance between the time they spend watching television and doing exercises, leading to an increased incidence of several diseases at a young age, such as obesity and diabetes.

Beside the previously mentioned disadvantages, the benefits that TV programmes bring to children are more significant. First and foremost, the updated and sufficient knowledge of various fields, from science to literature, helps them nurture their creativity, and boost their aspirations in certain careers, which is an orientation for professional prospects in the future. Additionally, the entertainment programmes on television offer children leisure time after hardly studying hours, resulting in releasing their stress and preventing some mental disorders. Due to that, children are able to concentrate on their courses and attain better academic results.

In conclusion, while the drawbacks of this problem for their well-being and educational achievements are undeniable, I maintain that children benefit from the abundant storage of information through TV programmes and the funny leisure time in their spare time.