If a product is good or meets people’s needs, they will buy it. Therefore, advertising is unnecessary and no more than entertainment. To what extent do you agree or disagree? (Agree or Disagree)

Opinions divide in whether advertising is necessary if customers tend to make purchase decisions according to their demands. Beside advertising programs’ drawbacks related to exaggerated and inaccurate information, I firmly believe that the advancement of advertising could bring undeniable advantages.

On the one hand, due to the proliferation of product-manufactured industries in the contemporary world, it is a challenge for people to compare and opt between a ton of rather similar products. As a result, the presence of advertising programs offers relevant knowledge and significant features of products so as to help buyers purchase a pertinant good and promote the healthy competition of several brands. In addition, customers benefit from such a phenomenon via discount programs.

On the other hand, in a tough competitive market, small companies suffer unexpected pressure from big and long-standing brands. If the government diminishes the scale of advertising, their products are unlikely to attract the public’s attention and reach potential customers. This phenomenon may facilitate the monopoly of a certain manufacturer and the destruction of start-up agencies, leading to an imbalance in economic development. Furthermore, the enormous profit from advertising programs that pays to the government in the form of taxes, also allocated to maintain the normal activities of a country, comprising education and health insurance.

In conclusion, despite several unsignificant disadvantages of advertising associated with their vague contents, I strongly disagree with the opinion that asserts it is an unnecessary and entertainment-purpose program due to its considerable benefits to the economic development of nations and enhance purchase options for customers.