Children's education is expensive. In some countries, the government pays some of or all of the costs. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The cost of an education programme has increased in recent decades, reaching marginal levels and often placing heavy burdens on the finances of families attempting to equip their offspring with sufficient schooling. As such, it is frequently up for debate whether or not the government's subsidies should take on the responsibility for citizen's education to reduce the pressure on citizens. From my viewpoint, while a state-sponsor education programme is highly favourable, the subsequent weight such a programme brings to the government's funding can be detrimental.

There are many demerits imputable to a gratis education system. To begin with, its implementation will place grave financial strain on the executives, having to cover an exhaustive range of costs, from operations and development to salaries and maintenance. The result is the divergence of funding from other equally important services, for instance, healthcare or transport, consequently diminishing the welfare of the people. To complement, the quality could be up to considerable concerns, as inadequate funding will bring about problems such as overcrowded classrooms or outdated facilities and faculties. Correspondingly, students will suffer, leading to deteriorating literary outcomes and defeating the purpose of the system.

However, a free education system is also attributable to various undeniable benefits. First and foremost, such a system will enable an upturn in the number of school attendees. This can be ascribed to the economic hindrance children from lower socio-economic backgrounds encounter, impeding their abilities to attend school. Therefore, an education-for-all agenda will be of great need for them to acquire educational attainment so as to prepare a broader educated workforce and talent pool for the country to tap into, allowing ampler contributions to the country. Additionally, allowance for pedagogy from the administration will increase the quality of life for the general public, albeit in the long run. By eliminating monetary obstacles in education, children from all walks of life will be able to attain education on a more equitable footing, levelling the field between the privileged and the poor by empowering opportunities for the underprivileged. Moreover, education can raise the social civility of the populace through the wide variety of skills it provides and the fostering of civic responsibility, leading to better-informed decisions that can positively affect their lives and society.

In conclusion, while crises regarding economic load and uninsured schooling standards might be glaring, the advantages ultimately outshine them. Nevertheless, considerations should be taken into before its implementation.