In the future, it seems more difficult to live on the Earth. Some people think more money should be spent on researching other planet to live, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to our actions against our planet's health, its ability to sustain life is deteriorating rapidly. Against such pressing matters, a common consensus is to search for additional lands and materials, in order to counteract. In my opinion, however, while I agree with the need for humanity to expand to outer space, abandoning our home planet is not a valid reason for it, for reasons found in the following paragraphs.

The expansion of mankind into the void above is inevitable. As civilization develops, various social issues will arise, requiring appropriate responses to resolve. For instance, with the prolific birthrate and growing life expectancies enabled by technological advancements, the global population has exploded exponentially, leading to tightening living quarters as cities find themselves becoming increasingly populated. Moreover, over-exploitation on account of short-term benefits means many crucial resources and life necessities are greatly diminished, disabling support for such numbers of inhabitants. Because of these reasons, heavier emphasis will be required on the development of technology for outer space.

However, while the cruciality of space exploration cannot be stressed enough, the same thing could be said about protecting the planet's habitats. First and foremost, even though the view of intergalactic human civilization is compelling, it should be noted that the costs and requirements for such progress are tremendously massive, well over the capabilities of our current technological prowess, which is also currently hindered by a multitude of social problems. Hence, we should prioritize funding and research into solutions for these setbacks prior to any space studies. Additionally, even if we can find another suitable location for humankind, this will not solve the root of the problem, as sooner or later, we will also exhaust its resources. Therefore, it is of utmost importance for us to achieve environmental sustainability so as to ensure our well-being for generations to come.

In conclusion, while the need for studies in the space industry is irrefutable, society should not overlook the significance of preserving their mother planet.