Children who start reading earlier in life, perform better later on in their school studies.

How important are early reading skills in a child´s academic performance?

What are preschool factors influence a child´s later academic achievements?

The ability to read at young ages has proved to be beneficial for many students´ classroom performance. It is mainly because early literacy development contributes to language proficiency and comprehension skills. However, other factors such as parental education, social connections also play important roles in the academic success of a student.

Reading opens the door to a child´s academic achievement, creates a love for learning and leads to higher grades in many subjects. Numerous studies have shown that if children learn to read at an early age, they are likely to have stronger oral language skills. Seeing that reading helps them to expand their vocabulary and to have better general knowledge. It is like a circle: the more they read, the more fluent they are. Besides, only by mastering effective reading strategies can a child extract relevant information and select necessary knowledge, which will enable him or her excel scholastically in the future.

Despite the advantages mentioned above, the educational accomplishment of a child is not only decided by early literacy development, but also by other elements, both physical and psychological. Firstly, scientists say that family has a profound influence on bringing up a child. Evidently, if he or she receives adequate care and support from family, that child will have more chances to succeed than his or her counterparts. Secondly, physical education is widely known to be a significantly vital part of children´s upbringing. Not only does it help them to improve their health, but also their mentality. Evidence shows that regular exercise is an effective method to combat obesity which results from an inactive lifestyle, and it also creates a platform for children to socialise and make more friends.

In conclusion, it is true that children who start to read early in life can achieve further on their academic path. Nevertheless, educators and parents should take into account other factors such as nurture or physical activities.