Some people think that public health is a responsibility of the government while others think that people should be responsible for their own health.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is true that individuals should look after themselves. However, the government is also accountable for the well-being of the population. In my opinion, I believe that the two arguments are both understandable.

On the one hand, people ought to be responsibly concerned about their health. The most important reason is that once they take care of themselves well enough, they have a better chance of preventing serious illnesses. For example, if one is careful about food handling and general hygiene, the risks of skin infections, pneumonia, food poisoning can be decreased. At the same time, as ´´an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure´´, a little precaution before a crisis occurs can help to save more money than fixing it when it has started. Another reason is that doing the right thing for your body pays off for your mind as well. If a person has healthy habits, it is likely that he can feel happier and more relaxed. Moreover, it leads to better mental health to make social connections and avoids mental problems.

On the other hand, the opinion of the governmental responsibility for public health is equally reasonable. Initially, citizens pay taxes which, in turn, should serve the taxpayers. Hence, the government has the duty of providing good healthcare service to their people. Secondly, a country with a healthy population is more beneficial in the long run because that country does not have to combat constant battles with fatal diseases also it does not spend thousands of $$ in health care. In other words, if the state generously funds hospital spending and improves health service as well as hospital facilities, not only can they enhance the well-being of their population, but also the quality of the workforce.

In conclusion, seeing that health is vitally important, I believe that the wellness of a population requires accountability of both governments and citizens.