Completing the university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some people think that going to university after completing high-school education is a sure way to get an excellent job in the future. In contrast, others do not choose academia and go for getting real-life experience and boost their soft skills. I think that nowadays both aspects of self-development are equally essential to get a good job which will not be replaced by technology.

On the one hand, university education is a strict requirement for most jobs. If it is the case, then most probably application will never be considered, because of the tense competition for well-payed jobs. The hiring decision is a pure example of an information asymmetry case when the human resources manager tries to get the correct and full information about the candidate. Completing the university is a guarantee not of a candidate’s knowledge solely but of the person’s values as the ability to commit and work hard. Furthermore, education gives a background for a job and develops analytical skills.

On the other hand, experience is another important requirement that the applicant most probably will encounter, which will be a massive advantage among others. Both soft-skills and a precise understanding of the field help to pass the interview successfully. Besides, hiring managers would surely prefer easy-going, positive people with good communication skills to have in the team to a person who is hard to work with, even though the latter has a strong educational background.

To sum it up, both university education and experience plus soft skills are highly important to get a job of the dream. A person should combine education with the enhancing of soft skills and getting real experience on the way to success.