Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

People hold different views about which way is better for getting a well-paid occupation, pursuing tertiary education or gaining real-life training and interpersonal skills. In my opinion, choosing which approach depends on particular professions because while university education might be ideal for knowledge-based jobs like lawyers or doctors, it could have reverse effects on flexible jobs such as marketers or freelancers.

On one hand, regarding jobs necessitating academic qualifications, professional knowledge taken from university courses is highly appreciated by employers as a shortage of insight into these majors could lead to irreversible mistakes. Take doctors as an example, to become a doctor, one is required to have a qualified medical certification because any incaution or unknown in treating patients could result in fatal misconduct. Consequently, getting practical experience while having little professional skills is extremely dangerous for both patients and doctors. This explains why the academic performance in India’s public education is low as most teachers here have just taken a vocational teaching course, not a four-year course taught by university lecturers before educating their students.

On the other hand, knowledge and skills needed for specific professions could be obtained faster through practical training and experiences got from workplaces. For instance, marketing prioritizes creativity and flexibility, therefore, to employers, soft skills like team-working skill, communication skill and problem-solving skill is more preferable to a university qualification. Moreover, professional knowledge in these fields could be gained in many other ways, which is less expensive and time-consuming than going to a university like taking short-term courses, conducting projects, and applying for a trainee position in a related company, to name but a few. In other words, the knowledge and skills given by university lecturers are not irreplaceable in these circumstances.

In conclusion, while university courses are significant when it comes to jobs emphasizing professional knowledge like lawyers or doctors, getting experience and gaining practical skills might be a reasonable option if one wants to work in changeable fields like painters or freelancers.