Computer technologies are more accessible and cheaper, as the result, more adults work at home and children study at home. Is this a positive or negative development?

As computer technologies are integrated into almost every device nowadays, we are struggling to keep them out of our everyday life during activities such as studying and working, that are now easy and cheap tasks to complete from home. Computers have simplified life for almost everyone, but I believe that this development has a number of important drawbacks, especially when considering people's physical and mental health.

Firstly, while telecommuting enables employees to work from home and students to be home-schooled, it isolates people from others. Especially for young children, human interaction is important to develop their communicating skills, and school plays an important role in this, but when kids study at home in front of a computer, the possibility of interactions disappears. They will only learn to communicate through electronic devices, instead of talking face-to-face with their peers. The same can happen to adults who work from home, where they do not have to face their colleagues and employer every day. In a person who is already shy or finds it difficult to interact with other people, spending too much time in front of a screen can be very isolating.

Secondly, when people sit at their desk for long periods of time, many days per week, it prepares the ground for an unhealthy lifestyle. Many pieces of research underline the importance of engaging in any kind of physical activity during the day to prevent the early onset of diseases such as obesity and diabetes. For this reason, using computer technology for long periods of time should never be recommended to anyone, especially to young people who, instead, should spend most of their time leading an active lifestyle.

In conclusion, I believe that while telecommuting has many benefits as it helps save time and money, on the other hand, it has to be considered a fairly dangerous development for everyone's health. People who decide to include such technologies into their everyday life should always be able to balance it with more active tasks.